Published July 30, 2020

'Star Wars: Doctor Aphra' Wins GLAAD Media Award for Outstanding Comic Book

Congratulations to the team behind all 40 issues of the landmark run!

Announced today, STAR WARS: DOCTOR APHRA (2016) won Outstanding Comic Book at the 31st Annual GLAAD Media Awards


After Doctor Chelli Lona Aphra made her debut in STAR WARS: DARTH VADER (2015) #3, her seminal solo series began in 2016 with STAR WARS: DOCTOR APHRA #1 by Kieron Gillen, Kev Walker, Antonio Fabela, VC's Joe Caramagna, Kamome Shirahama, Salvador Larroca, and Edgar Delgado. Simon Spurrier then joined the writing team with issue #14 before taking over scripting duties full-time, leading a team of cultured creators to craft some of the greatest characters, most captivating storylines, and most moving moments in recent history at the House of Ideas.

STAR WARS: DOCTOR APHRA #25 cover by Ashley Witter
STAR WARS: DOCTOR APHRA #25 cover by Ashley Witter

Congratulations to Simon Spurrier, Emilio Laiso, Andrea Broccardo, Wilton Santos, Caspar Wijngaard, Marc Deering, Don Ho, Walden Wong, Chris Bolson, Scott Hanna, Elsa Charretier, Rachelle Rosenberg, Chris O'Halloran, Stephane Paitreau, Lee Loughridge, Edgar Delgado, Jim Campbell, and Joe Caramagna for their incredible work—and for winning Outstanding Comic Book at the 31st Annual GLAAD Media Awards!

Read all of STAR WARS: DOCTOR APHRA (2016) on Marvel Unlimited today, and stay tuned to for more! Pax et Justitia!



Marvel Unlimited Expands This August

See what new digital comics are arriving this month!


What We're Reading on Marvel Unlimited

See all of this week’s new additions!


Catch Up with Today's New Comics

Prep for new issues of 'Star Wars: Darth Vader,' 'Cable,' 'X-Men,' and more!


Comics to Read Before ‘Star Wars’ #1

Get ready for a brand-new Star Wars series, now on Marvel Unlimited.