Quiet Council of Krakoa

Quiet Council of Krakoa

Old enemies come together for the good of mutantkind and form the Quiet Council of Krakoa—an appointed Cabinet that governs Krakoa, the island nation-state and mutant paradise.



Leading the nation-state and sentient island of Krakoa is the Quiet Council, a governing body and court of law that decides and enforces the laws of the mutants’ sovereign homeland.


A Dream Realized

Decades in the making, Doctor Moria MacTaggert, now Moira X, propels Charles Xavier, AKA Professor X, and Max Eisenhardt, AKA Magneto, towards the dream of a mutant nation-state. Now finally realized, the sentient island of Krakoa is the mutants’ sovereign homeland, recognized by the United Nations. The Quiet Council of Krakoa is their catch-all government run by mutants from all different backgrounds who represent all of mutantkind.


Governing Body

The Quiet Council is a body of law, the court of Krakoa, and the leading authority on commerce with the human world. The Council is made up of foundational X-Men and former members of the Hellfire Club.

The Council is divided into sections or “seasons” led by three members who represent mutant society. Autumn consists of Professor X, Magneto, and En Sabah Nur, AKA Apocalypse, who all oversee human-mutant relations, especially with human nations centering on their need for mutant pharmaceuticals. Bennet du Paris, AKA Exodus, Nathan Essex, AKA Mister Sinister, and Raven Darkhölme, AKA Mystique, head Winter, representing the criminal elements of Krakoa. Spring is led by Sebastian Shaw, AKA Black King, Emma Frost, AKA White Queen, and eventually Kate Pryde, dubbed the Red Queen. They lead the Hellfire Trading Company which is the commerce arm of Krakoa, and Kitty provides safe passage to Krakoa for oppressed mutants with her team of Marauders. Summer is led by Ororo Munroe, AKA Storm, Jean Grey, AKA Phoenix but going by Marvel Girl, and Kurt Wagner, AKA Nightcrawler, who represent the just members of Krakoa, such as the X-Men and other factions like the X-Force and Excalibur.

The final section of the Council is that of Krakoa, the island itself, led by Krakoa and Douglas Ramsey, AKA Cypher, with the latter interpreting for the former. The island is practically limitless, with new regions cropping up overnight. Krakoa has two locations, one in the Pacific Ocean and one in the Atlantic.

While the Quiet Council is the ruling authority on Krakoa, they delegate four great captains who are responsible for the island’s defense. In the field, such as a state-related excursion or in times of conflict or war, a captain has complete control. The Captain Commander is considered first among equals and the one who first holds this designation is Scott Summers, AKA Cyclops. The other captains include Tomi Shishido, AKA Gorgon, Lucas Bishop, AKA Bishop, and Illyana Rasputin, AKA Magik.


Allied Despite Past Deeds

While the Council has members from all backgrounds of mutantkind, it does not mean they like one another. Most notably, Professor X, Magneto, and Apocalypse have had vastly different ideologies and philosophies where it concerns mutantkind, and have all butt heads at one time or another. Though Magneto commits himself fully to the cause of forming the nation-state and sets his differences with Xavier aside. Apocalypse also submits to the laws of the land and to serve a higher purpose than want or need. The former leaders of the Hellfire Club also engaged in many conflicts with Professor X’s merry mutants, the X-Men, but now they come together on the Quiet Council to govern their fellow mutants collectively. While Mister Sinister heads the Winter section of the Council with Exodus, Exodus warns Sinister that speaking to him is at his own peril.


Council Rulings

The first meeting of the Quiet Council focuses on judgment, i.e., judging a fellow mutant, based on mutant laws, for their crimes. The mutant criminal Victor Creed, AKA Sabretooth, is the first to be judged by the Council. They decide, despite their dissenting opinions, to create their first law: No mutant may take a human life. Sabretooth speaks violently and both Emma and Jean use their telepathy powers to quiet him. The Council discusses and agrees on the remaining laws of mutantdom which are to make more mutants through a resurrection protocol and respect the sacred land that is Krakoa. With these laws, they pass judgement on Sabretooth for his crimes, and agree unanimously to sentence him to stasis deep inside Krakoa, alive but immobile, forever.

After Professor X is assassinated by a group wearing psionic blocking technology, his seat on the Council opened up but remains to be filled. The Spring section also had a seat open, and one of its leaders, Emma, chooses Kate Pryde and gives her the position of Red Queen.

Base of Operations, Current Members, Former Members
  • Base of Operations

  • Current Members

  • Former Members